Sketchbook No. 67 – 28 June 2013 to 22 August 2013

Cover of Sketchbook No. 67, 2013, about 8.5"x11"

Cover of Sketchbook No. 67, 2013, about 8.5″x11″

I finished another sketchbook – my 67th. I put F on the cover for “front” – then I added some baby stickers – because this book features the birth of my daughter Maeve (more about her below). I got a fancier than usual sketchbook – ivory pages and thicker, I think. The sales person at DaVinci art supply said it would work to draw on both sides of the page… but it didn’t… so I think that this book may have fewer pages than others… oh well.

Click on any of the images to make bigger. (And I’ve said this before, but I do the scans pretty quickly, without really adjusting to make them look great – because I’d rather spend time on the art itself… and with my daughter and wife!)

page 1 of Sketchbook No. 67, ink and watercolor on paper, about 8.5"x11"

page 1 of Sketchbook No. 67, ink and watercolor on paper, about 8.5″x11″

The first page I did with watercolor. It’s the only page that really has color.

train rider sketches, pen on paper in sketchbook,  July 2013, about 8.5"x11"

train rider sketches, pen on paper in sketchbook, July 2013, about 8.5″x11″

Most of the book is sketches of train riders during my commute. I’ve posted lots of these lately, because it’s the thing I sketch most often. I like the guy in the middle of this page (he’s got his arms crossed.)

Sketch of people at SVA event, brush pen on paper in sketchbook, 15 July 2013, about 8.5"x11"

Sketch of people at SVA event, brush pen on paper in sketchbook, 15 July 2013, about 8.5″x11″

Above is a drawing I did at a School of Visual Arts alumni event hosted by my wife Carrie. There were lots of people with sketchbooks there – felt like I was in my element!

sketch of people on the 2 train, brush pen on paper in sketchbook, 29 July 2013, about 8.5"x11"

sketch of people on the 2 train, brush pen on paper in sketchbook, 29 July 2013, about 8.5″x11″

Another train sketch – the day before…

sketch of grandma Susan Palmer and our one-day-old daughter Maeve Margaret Linton Lincourt, ink on paper in sketchbook, 31 July 2013, about 8.5"x11"

sketch of grandma Susan Palmer and our one-day-old daughter Maeve Margaret Linton Lincourt, ink on paper in sketchbook, 31 July 2013, about 8.5″x11″

… my daughter was born – at home on July 30th 2013. I had a few weeks off work, and she became the subject I sketched a lot, and still do. Above is my very first sketch of Maeve. See also the sketches on her birth announcement here.

sketches of Maeve, ink on paper in sketchbook, 9 August 2013, about 8.5"x11"

sketches of Maeve, ink on paper in sketchbook, 9 August 2013, about 8.5″x11″

It seems like I’ve sketched her a lot… and still really haven’t gotten the hang of it. She moves around – and baby’s proportions, especially facially, are really different than what I am used to. I’ll keep at it.

sketch of people on the 2 train, brush pen on paper in sketchbook, 21 August 2013, about 8.5"x11"

sketch of people on the 2 train, brush pen on paper in sketchbook, 21 August 2013, about 8.5″x11″

and one more train passenger sketch to end on.

More of my sketchbook art posted here.

One response to “Sketchbook No. 67 – 28 June 2013 to 22 August 2013

  1. I adore sketchbooks…I almost feel naked without mine! I also have a baby, a boy called Jacob. I can feel some portraiture coming on! :) best wishes and great work.Andrew

Leave a Reply

