San Francisco sketches – May 2011

From Sketchbook 58 - San Francisco - Coit Tower, view from Union and Leavenworth, 8 May 2011, ink and colored pencil on paper, 8.5"x11"

I took the train up to San Francisco for a couple of days, mostly to check out their bike infrastructure and their Sunday Streets. I also took the time to sketch. I traveled light, so I didn’t pack my watercolors, as I often do when I travel… but then I got the urge to use some color, so I purchased some color pencils. I usually wait and post sketchbook selections when I finish the book (see images from 56 and 57) but I liked these and wanted to show them off. [Something’s goofy where the 2-page scans are poor resolution – I will try to post better ones… any one want to help assemble these? I am really bad with computer manipulation of images.]

I visited public space projects; here’s a “parklet” basically a semi-permanent small park made out of a parking space. It’s hard to tell from this picture. This one is located at Mojo – a cafe and bike shop – on Divisadero near Grove.

sketch from Sketchbook 58 - Parklet at Mojo, 6 May 2011, ink on paper, about 8.5"x5"

Here’s a streetscape at Scott and Page… somewhat typical San Francisco Victorians, but also special because it’s part of a bike route called “The Wiggle.”

sketch from Sketchbook 58 - San Francisco intersection of Scott and Page, 6 May 2011, ink on paper, 17"x11"

Here’s a church that I don’t know anything about, located at Fell and Filmore.

sketch from Sketchbook 58 - church at Fell and Fillmore, 6 May 2011, ink and colored pencil on paper, 8.5"x11"

Here’s my favorite drawing of the trip – a streetscape in the Mission neighborhood. I was checking it out because Sunday Streets was taking place there the next day. The scene is on 24th at Harrison. There’re lots and lots of mistakes here… but overall it hangs together ok.

sketch from Sketchbook 58 - San Francisco Mission streetscape, 7 May 2011, ink on paper, 17"x11"

Here’s a close-up that shows more detail:

detail of Mission sketch

Subsequent to that one I biked up a hill (Russian Hill I am pretty sure) and found a good view of the city, including Coit Tower. Image at the top of the post.

Lastly, I did a few drawings on the Amtrak Coast Starlight, on the way up and the way down. None of those drawings are all that great; I’ve got better train interiors in other sketchbooks. Here’s one from early today that started as a foot study, and grew into a drawing of the back seat of an Amtrak chair.

sketch from Sketchbook 58 - my foot, 9 May 2011, ink on paper, 8.5"x11"

6 responses to “San Francisco sketches – May 2011

  1. These are great! I love San Francisco. I especially like the ones in color. They’re so vibrant and really capture the feel of the city. Any chance I could feature some of your sketches on my blog? I would, of course, include a link to your blog.
    ~Anna

  2. Joe, these are wonderful! Very nice.

  3. Throughly enjoyed pursuing through your sketch books. I plan on sharing your site to a few of my friends I think would also enjoy your perspectives. I love your free form expressionism, (I think that’s what it’s called) and unique views. Truly refreshing. Thank you for sharing. Jim…

  4. These are awesome Joe! I love these one shot drawings. They’re filled with so much energy and life. Love it! It was great to see up in SF!

    Royd;)

  5. …not all that great??? … These are awesome… your sketches draw me (no pun here) right into the fabric of the city… thanks!

Leave a Reply

