Man – 4 June 2011

Man - 4 June 2011, India ink and watercolor on paper, 6"x9"

This one was pretty boring when I first sketched it in June. I added the brick wall*, and it was still boring… then I added the halo, and it was still boring… and I kinda worked over the piece adding layers, adding vertical shading in ink and in opaque watercolor, including giving the face highlights from two light sources… and then adding the blue frame… and I think it’s still no great shakes, but it eventually got somewhat better as I worked on the layers and layers.

*adding those bricks in the background is one of my tried-and-kinda-true ways of spicing up a boring piece – see other examples here (nicely) and here (not so successfully.)

Leave a Reply

