Woman – 17 July 2011

Woman - 17 July 2011, India ink and watercolor on paper, 6"x9"

This one is another one of those pieces where I drew the central figure – the woman – and wasn’t all that pleased with the drawing… and then proceeded to fill in a background around her… and it’s somewhat better… but still not that great. I think that neither the figure nor the background are quite successful.

Often I do these urban scenes with mainly primary colors… for this one I varied that rule a bit – using yellow and blue, but instead of red, I used more earth tones. The exception to that exception is that I did give her red lips. I think next time I will resume using more red.

Leave a Reply

