Occupy L.A. sketches – 21 October 2011

Sketch of Occupy L.A. tents and people north of Los Angeles City Hall, ink on paper in sketchbook No. 60, about 11"x17"

Here are some sketches I did this afternoon at the Occupy L.A. protest encampment around Los Angeles City Hall. I’d been meaning to get down there, but hadn’t made the time to. It was good to visit, a welcoming vibe. I ran into a few friends, and plenty of folks noticed me sketching and liked what they saw and let me know. I don’t know that I would camp out or play an active role, but I am definitely sympathetic to the cause. I enjoyed sketching and talking with folks and will head back and hang out more.

They’re all in my sketchbook No. 60, which I am about a third of the way through. I think the above one is best and most finished – showing the mass of tents and people on the north side of City Hall. It’s on the concrete sidewalk/path leading to the City Hall north doors (along Temple about midway between Spring and Main) looking west toward Spring.

Below are a couple basically people-watching sketches there.

Sketch of people at Occupy L.A., ink on paper in sketchbook No. 60, about 4"x4"

Sketches of people at Occupy L.A., ink on paper in sketchbook No. 60, about 6"x5"

This one is more-or-less successful and finished. It’s folks on the south side of city hall, including the fountain there. They’re watching a performance to the right of the image.

Sketch of scene at Occupy L.A., ink on paper in sketchbook No. 60, 8.5"x11"

A few folks took photos of me drawing – look for some of them to turn up at this Occupy L.A. tumblr.

2 responses to “Occupy L.A. sketches – 21 October 2011

  1. I note that the tent on the right in the top sketch looks like a fat ghost with arms crossed. Most appropriate for this time of year. Great sketches. Thanks.

  2. These are great sketches!! Love them!

Leave a Reply

