More S.L.O. vacation sketches – May 2012

Woman curled up on Amtrak northbound Surfliner, ink and colored pencil on paper in Sketchbook No. 61, 2 May 2012, about 9″x5″

I posted the majority of my vacation sketches done of Los Osos Oaks here. This follow-up post are the few other sketches I did on my trip. I meant to sketch more in town… but ended up out at the Oak Reserve most of the time instead. These are the sketches that I think turned out fairly well. They’re in chronological order. They’re mostly from Sketchbook No. 61, which I am still working on.

I did the above sketch on the train out. I showed it to the woman, and she said “that’s rad!” She was really cute, seemed very young, I am guessing probably a UCSB student. I was glad she wasn’t creeped out.

At Santa Barbara, the trip connected to an Amtrak bus, where I used a brush pen (somewhat unusual for me) to draw this passenger:

Man on Amtrak Bus, ink on paper across two pages in Sketchbook No. 61, 3 May 2012, about 12″x12″

I showed it to him and he didn’t seem all that impressed.

I did a few sketches at the start and end of San Luis Obispo County Bicycle Coalition‘s excellent Kidical Mass ride:

bike sketches, ink on paper in Sketchbook No. 61, 3 May 2012, 9″x12″

The next day I did this bike path sketch, as a sort of warm-up that day:

San Luis Obispo Rail with Trail Bike Path, ink and watercolor on paper, 4 May 2012, 4″x6″

The sky and clouds turned out well… but they’re so light that they didn’t scan all that well. Though I fiddled with it, I am really hopeless trying to manipulate anything in photoshop… oh well.

Then I drew a bunch of oak trees.

Then here’s another Amtrak train sketch on the way home:

On Pacific Surfliner Amtrak train southbound, ink on paper in sketchbook No. 61, 8 May 2012, about 9″x12″

Leave a Reply

