Country and City Price List – July 2012

City and Country art show price list – flier, photocopy on blue cardstock, 8.5×11″

hmmmm… I am posting this a sort of piece of art – it’s a flier I drew – though it’s also a record of the art show (up NOW through August 15th 2012)… we’ll see how it goes. Here at the this post, I will do an explanation of the flier as a piece of my art.

Go to this page for more details on the show, prices, etc. – including what’s for sale and how much, with some links to the artwork. I plan to keep that page as up to date as possible, so you can see what’s already sold and what’s still available

I did the drawing for the flier above which is a sort of map of the gallery show. Here’s an assembled panorama of the show:

panorama of art show at Barbara Mendes Gallery – click for post with a couple views, and higher resolution versions

And, for my mistaken commitment to posterity or perhaps repetition and self-aggrandizement, here’s the scan of the drawing… which became the flier above.

Country and City Joe Linton Price List, ink on paper, 9″x12″

The scanner I use is 8.5″.x11″ so it does better with the flier than the drawing (which is just a hair too big.)

The whole piece is based on a circle… first done with pencil and compass and ruler, then inked, erased. I first did a sort of half-page sketch of the show. It looked boring, so I thought that using a compass and embedding it all in a sort of half-page half-circle arc would be a good, more interesting, more coherent design. I picked a focal point (just left of the 2 in 26 at the bottom of the page.) and started to realign my sketch with the circle I’d layed out… and at a certain point, I realized that I’d gotten into more work than I expected.

Though it’s all based on a circle I didn’t really want curved lines for frames… so actually all of the artworks are shown as regular trapezoids, with top and bottom parallel lines, and with right and left side lines that would converge at the focal point. To do this, I ended up having to draw the side lines, then find the midpoint, then draw a midline, then draw a top and bottom perpendicular to the midline…

I think it ultimately looks good – but execution took more work than I expected.

Leave a Reply

