Two L.A. Streetscapes – 20 July 2012

Sunset Boulevard Bridge over Myra Avenue, ink on paper in Sketchbook No. 62, 20 July 2012, about 11″x17″

I keep saying that I need to act like a tourist in L.A. and sketch! sketch! sketch! (When I head to San Francisco [here and here] and San Luis Obispo [here and here] I do a lot of sketching… but not so much in L.A.)

Photo of me and my sketch of the Myra bridge

The above drawing and photo are of the 1929 Sunset Boulevard Bridge over Myra Avenue, which is fairly close to Fountain – in the gray area neighborhood that might be East Hollywood or Silver Lake. Myra has minor celebrity status in the bike and creek world – for the whole story there, see my 2009 L.A. Streetsblog article.

Below is a drawing from a table in the Sunset Triangle Park – a mini-plaza thing that closed a portion of Griffith Park Boulevard to create a car-free walking/dining/hanging-out space.

Sunset Triangle Plaza, ink and colored pencil on paper in Sketchbook No. 62, 20 July 2012, about 11″x17″

Here’s a photo from the same point of view:

art imitates life at the Sunset Triangle Park

I colored this in using colored pencils… and though they looked pretty good to me, the scanner wasn’t all that pleased with them. I fiddled with the colors a bit… but it still doesn’t quite look as good as the actual.

Lots more sketchbook stuff here.

Leave a Reply

