Church at 12th and Kenmore – 1 August 2012

Church at Corner of 12th Street and Kenmore, Los Angeles CA – ink on paper in Sketchbook No. 62, 1 August 2012, about 8.5″x11″

More urban sketching in my Sketchbook No. 62. I was bicycling around this area, called Los Angeles’ Byzantine Latino Quarter (though I think name was made up by a marketing person) and spotted this somewhat off-the-beaten-path church. It’s at the corner of 12th Street and Kenmore Avenue, not far from Pico and Normandie. I liked both the church and the power lines.

The church is Korean; it’s called The Church at Philippi. The address is 1200 S. Kenmore Avenue, L.A. 90006. Though the building states it was erected in 1920, I couldn’t find anything describing it as historically significant… though it’s a very beautiful 90-year old building… not massive or monumental, but very nice.

My drawing isn’t quite proportionally correct… I think I was trying to make sure that it fit on the page, and so I made it a little squatter than it actually is. Here’s what it really looks like:

Church at 12th and Kenmore

and here’s me holding up my sketch next to it:

sketch and subject matter

Leave a Reply

