My Business Card – 12 September 2012

New business card design, ink on paper, 12 September 2012, about 1″x2″

Above is my design for my first ever business card as an artist… mostly because a lot of times I will be out sketching and people will ask for my website, which is long and not so easy to remember. In a couple days, I will be able to just hand folks the card.

I tend to tighten up when I work on some graphic stuff like this, so what I did was to just draw a bunch of these, and then when I hit one that I really like, I stop. Below are the unused designs, more or less (to the extent I remember), in the order that I did them.

Unused business card design, ink on paper, 12 September 2012, about 1″x2″

This one was sort of the runner-up… I was almost thinking of using it, but kept tooling around:

Unused business card design, ink on paper, 12 September 2012, about 1″x2″

This one is more-or-less based on lettering by the artist Ben Shahn. I liked it, but it’s a little bit difficult to read, and it’s sort of me working in someone else’s style:

Unused business card design, ink on paper, 12 September 2012, about 1″x2″

Unused business card design, ink on paper, 12 September 2012, about 1″x2″

Unused business card design, ink on paper, 12 September 2012, about 1″x2″

Unused business card design, ink on paper, 12 September 2012, about 1″x2″

Unused business card design, ink on paper, 12 September 2012, about 1″x2″

Unused business card design, ink on paper, 12 September 2012, about 1″x2″

and then after all those, I was thinking I’d use the second one, then I decided to try a vertical format version… and liked what I came up with… and took it to the printer.

Leave a Reply

