Sketchbook Number Sixty-three – 5 August 2012 to 2 November 2012

Cover of Sketchbook No. 63

I finished another sketchbook! This is my sixty-third.

Central Park drawing posted earlier

I’ve posted quite a few images from it already – see these earlier posts: Metro 720 bus bar crawl, L.A. homes, NY and NJ trip, Ana Paula and Eric’s wedding reception, Rey Dominguez memorial, Junot Diaz, Temple Street Bridge, Central Park, and the SVA artist-mothers panel. Those are really the best drawings in the book… when I do something good I post it right away – here at Handmade Ransom Notes, or sometimes on my facebook page: facebook.com/jrlart.

Below I’ve posted some selected Sketchbook No. 63 that I haven’t posted earlier here at the blog. These are in the order they appear in the book, starting with the first page, where I always do a sort of splash page with the sketchbook number and dates.

Page one of Sketchbook No.63, ink and watercolor on paper

This book has a lot of streetscapes, which I’ve been doing for a while… but more and more lately. One from Los Angeles:

Downtown Los Angeles Skyline from Vista Hermosa Park, ink on paper in Sketchbook No. 63

Next are a few sketches I did during the wedding of my good friends Thiago and Nichole.

Sketches at wedding, ink on paper in Sketchbook No. 63

Over the course of this sketchbook, I’ve fallen wonderfully deeply in love with Carrie Lincourt, who is now my fiance. There are quite a few pages where I’ve kinda doodled her name, playing around with lettering, etc., for example this one:

Lettering Carrie’s name, ink on paper in Sketchbook No. 63

More streetscape drawings, the next two in New York City:

Washington Square Park, ink on paper in Sketchbook No. 63

Building tops in New York City across from City Hall Park, ink on paper in Sketchbook No. 63

And that’s all for now! See more of my sketchbook work here.

2 responses to “Sketchbook Number Sixty-three – 5 August 2012 to 2 November 2012

  1. Hi, my name is Regina Fuentes. I’m interested in using one of your images on a t-shirt design. I’ve never anything like this before… but I’m sure I need permission of some sort? The image I want to use is the drawing of Downtown Los Angeles. Please get back to me as soon as possible. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

