On the Airplane Comics – 13 November 2012

On the Airplane Comics – pen on paper drawing in Sketchbook No. 64, 13 November 2012, about 8.5″x11″

I did this comic strip while I was on an airplane flying from Newark to Los Angeles last week. As the strip tells the story, I was reading an excellent book The Best American Comics 2011 and got inspired to do my own comics. I enjoy comics a lot – sometimes write about them at The Periodic Fable. The anthology included work by Alison Bechdel and Jill Tamaki, both of whom are excellent comic book artist/writers.

As I mostly do, I worked directly in pen, with no pencil planning. I went in with a gray brush pen and added some darks, after. It’s pretty rough with plenty of mistakes, smudges, etc. It turned out ok as a sort of record of the day. My fiance Carrie likes the Skype drawing!

One response to “On the Airplane Comics – 13 November 2012

  1. Awesome! Can’t wait for the full graphic novel!

Leave a Reply

