Bowery Buildings – 1 December 2012

3rd Street near Bowery, New York City, ink and watercolor on paper, 1 December 2012, 8"x8"

3rd Street near Bowery, New York City, ink and watercolor on paper, 1 December 2012, 8″x8″

I did this drawing (with watercolor) of some good-looking historic buildings in Manhattan’s Bowery neighborhood. I think it turned out well. Here’s my cell-phone photo of the actual buildings.

Photo I took of the buildings on 3rd Street near Bowery

Photo I took of the buildings on 3rd Street near Bowery

From the perspective that the phone photo gives, its clear that I sort of eliminated some of the perspective and drew these more-or-less straight-on. I also simplified a great deal – I took out a tree, and kept some of the great ornamentation to a minimum (the building on the left actually has little faces in the architecture.) I was tempted to leave out the fire escapes… but ended up feeling like they really needed to be there… so included them, but sort of made them less dark and detailed, so they covered up a bit less of the great facades.

Leave a Reply

