Tree and Church NYC – 3 December 2012

Tree and Church Streetscape - 29th Street near 5th Avenue, New York City, ink and watercolor on paper, 3 December 2012, 8"x8"

Tree and Church Streetscape – 29th Street near 5th Avenue, New York City, ink and watercolor on paper, 3 December 2012, 8″x8″

This is another Manhattan streetscape (more here, here, here) that I did recently. It’s sort of a tree portrait too (more of them here, here, here.) Below is a photo of the site.

Photo of the scene I drew

Photo of the scene I drew

If you look at the lower right part of the photo, you’ll notice that I simplified the scene by leaving out a second tree that’s largely in front of the tall window at the lower right of the drawing. There was a just a bit of foliage – leaves – that I left off… they weren’t all that visible in the light when I first sat down… then the light changed somewhat, making them more visible.

The church is Marble Collegiate Church, built in 1854. The view I drew isn’t the taller and more dramatic front, but a smallish trio of towers along the side at the back of the chuch. The front is on 5th Avenue at 29th Street; my piece is along 29th Street. You can see the Empire State Building, too – it’s in the upper left corner.

I’ve been using a pad of 8″x8″ watercolor paper because I like squares and circles. In some cases, like my Flatiron piece, I feel like I shoehorned a vertical composition into a square frame… but, for this piece, I feel like the tree really fits the square pretty well (though I cut off some of the lower part of the tree.) Initially I was framing the square around the three pointed spires… but I just draw in pen first, so the composition doesn’t always turn out the way I expect it.

Lastly, the tree owes a bit to the style of Mike Mignola‘s drawings.

Leave a Reply

