Airplane Sketches – 9 December 2012

Awaiting de-icing on Delta Flight 821  from Minneapolis to Los Angeles, brush pen ink on paper across two pages of Sketchbook No. 64, 9 December 2012, 11"x17"

Awaiting de-icing on Delta Flight 821 from Minneapolis to Los Angeles, brush pen ink on paper across two pages of Sketchbook No. 64, 9 December 2012, 11″x17″

I flew back to L.A. from New Jersey yesterday. Above is a sketch I did on board the airplane while waiting in snowy Minneapolis, when I had a connecting flight to catch. The flight had a three hour delay. No fun ( I was a bit nervous about the snow, de-icing and all – though it worked out ok in the end) but I did get a good drawing out of it. I was glad to have an aisle seat so I could draw people sitting on board. I’ve done a bunch of similar drawings before – for example this earlier on-flight drawing. The above drawing is in brush pen, which makes for a lot of ink in a hurry.

On Delta Airlines Flight DL1833 Cincinnati to Los Angeles, pen on paper in Sketchbook No. 63, 6 September 2012, about 11"x11"

On Delta Airlines Flight DL1833 Cincinnati to Los Angeles, pen on paper in Sketchbook No. 63, 6 September 2012, about 11″x11″ – click for larger image

Below are some hand studies I did en route from Newark to Minneapolis… where I had a middle seat. I’ve done zillions of hand studies before… though haven’t posted many here.

Hand studies, pen on paper in Sketchbook No. 64, 9 December 2012, 8.5"x11"

Hand studies, pen on paper in Sketchbook No. 64, 9 December 2012, 8.5″x11″

Both of the above drawings are in my Sketchbook No. 64, started October 28th 2012 and nearly done. I’ve been posting lots of my sketchbook drawings – click here for way more sketchbook work than you probably want to see. See also recent air travel sketches: my earlier airplane comic strip and my drawing of the airplane’s wing.

Leave a Reply

