Sketchbook Number 64 – 28 October 2012 to 19 December 2012

Cover of Sketchbook No.64 - 2012, about 8.5"x11"

Cover of Sketchbook No.64 – 2012, about 8.5″x11″

I am just getting around to posting some highlights from my most recent completed sketchbook – Number 64. I finished it last month while on vacation in Santa Cruz. I had a great time there – travelling there for vacation with my fiance Carrie – met great friends of hers, ate yummy food, and drew a bit in books 64 and 65.

I finished this book pretty quickly – less than 2 months. Some of this is because I wasn’t doing all that much art outside the book. It’s something I need to do more is just draw/paint on loose paper, so I actually sell stuff (I hold on to my books.) Inside the book is mostly observations (as opposed to inventions) – mostly in my new east coast environs. The book is a different brand/type than I’ve used before. It’s archival – though it seems like the pages are just a bit more transparent than most of the sketchbook paper I’ve drawn on, so some of the scans show a sort of ghost image of the next page – oh well. (I prefer to spend time drawing, and not on trying to get scans to look just right.) (blah blah blah – show them the pictures, Joe!)

The cover of the book, above, isn’t all that remarkable. I added the Streetsblog sticker mostly so I could tell which side was the front. I recently contributed some art to a Streetsblog fundraiser auction – so I grabbed a sticker. I am a big fan of theirs in any case. Below is the first page. I painted yellow watercolor on top of green colored watercolor pencil.

page one of Sketchbook No. 64, watercolor, watercolor pencil and ink on paper, 2012, about 8.5"x11"

page one of Sketchbook No. 64, watercolor, watercolor pencil and ink on paper, 2012, about 8.5″x11″

As usual, I’ve already posted some of the best images – follow the links to go to those earlier posts – they’re really the best stuff in this book.

These earlier Sketchbook No. 64 posts include:

Manhattan skyline from Jersey City - ink on paper in Sketchbook No. 64, November 2012, about 8"x17"

Manhattan skyline – click for post with large image

a Manhattan skyline I am proud of, these eucalyptus trees, a downtown Tustin streetscape, three sets of air travel sketches (one, two and these comics), and drawings of folks at jury duty.

Here’s a streetscape I did in Brooklyn – on Fulton at Jay. It’s at night. Done with brush pen, good for getting a lot of ink down fairly quickly. It was one of the first really cold nights, so a street vendor selling coats, scarves, hats, etc. was doing a brisk business – they’re in the lower right.

Brooklyn Streetscape, Fulton at Jay, brush pen on paper in sketchbook, 10 November 2012, about 11"x17"

Brooklyn Streetscape, Fulton at Jay, brush pen on paper in sketchbook, 10 November 2012, about 11″x17″

Here’s a page of some of my air travel sketches, an increasingly prominent genre of mine as I’ve fallen madly in love, and moved across the country. This was a day when I arrived back in L.A. and drew a man on the LAX shuttle, then drew the freeways as viewed from the Metro Green Line station:

man on LAX shuttle and 105 freeway, brush pen on paper in sketchbook, 13 November 2012, about 8.5"x11"

man on LAX shuttle and 105 freeway, brush pen on paper in sketchbook, 13 November 2012, about 8.5″x11″

Here’s another view of the Manhattan skyline – drawn from the roof of the School of Visual Arts (SVA) building where Carrie works. It’s fairly quick – in brush pen. It was cold and windy… so there are some stray marks where I smudged and mis-drew, but overall I like it:

Manhattan view from SVA (Carrie's office) rooftop, brush pen on paper, 5 December 2012, about 11"x17"

Manhattan view from SVA (Carrie’s office) rooftop, brush pen on paper, 5 December 2012, about 11″x17″

Lest you think I only draw buildings these days (and only work in brush pen), here are some people – on the train, and at the Jersey City Building Department offices. I used to draw people almost all the time… lately I do more streets/buildings. Drawing people is probably my favorite thing to do.

sketches of people, ink on paper in sketchbook, December 2012, about 8.5"x11"

sketches of people, ink on paper in sketchbook, December 2012, about 8.5″x11″

Here’s another sketch of buildings in Manhattan. It was a cold day, so I sat inside a cafe and sketched the view out of the window. It’s an odd composition – all triangular, with some things very close by, and others further off. In the middle of the left page is the top of the Empire State Building. The bottom middle thing that says “spread?” is street art done on the subway entrance. It’s not completely finished, but overall I like what I did:

New York City view from cafe at 23rd Street and 8th Avenue, ink on paper in sketchbook, 7 December 2012, about 11"x17"

New York City view from cafe at 23rd Street and 8th Avenue, ink on paper in sketchbook, 7 December 2012, about 11″x17″

And, lest you think that all I do is observation these days, here’s an invention piece: a woman with medusa-snakey-looking hair.

sketch of woman, ink on paper in sketchbook, December 2012, about 8.5"x11"

sketch of woman, ink on paper in sketchbook, December 2012, about 8.5″x11″

Here’s the final thing I drew in this book: oak tree branches. Longtime readers know I like to draw trees – especially oaks. These are oak tree branches in a preserve area called Pogonip, right near UC Santa Cruz.

Oak trees in Santa Cruz's Pogonip, ink on paper in sketchbook, 19 December 2012, about 8.5"x11"

Oak trees in Santa Cruz’s Pogonip, ink on paper in sketchbook, 19 December 2012, about 8.5″x11″

Lotz mooooore sketchbook work here… and sometimes I post sketches at the Art by Joe Linton Facebook page and don’t quite get them onto my blog.

 

3 responses to “Sketchbook Number 64 – 28 October 2012 to 19 December 2012

  1. you are always most prolific with the brush pen/paintbrush when you’re in love. the world rejoices!

  2. these are so cool. i wouldn’t be disappointed if you worked more on that 23rd & 8th sketch there! and i always envy your hatching skills… incidentally i’ve been using moleskines the last few months and also used stickers to mark the front… because my first one ended up being used upside down… thanks for sharing!

  3. all of your work is well.i love that

Leave a Reply

