Rooftop Manhattan Skyline drawing – January 2013

Manhattan skyline looking east from top of Carrie's work at SVA, ink on paper in sketchbook, 8-30 January 2013, about 11"x17"

Manhattan skyline looking east from top of Carrie’s work at SVA, ink on paper in sketchbook, 8-30 January 2013, about 11″x17″

I took a long time to finish this drawing. It’s a view of Manhattan from the rooftop of School of Visual Arts (SVA) where my fiance Carrie works. It’s roughly looking southeast from 21st Street and 7th Avenue. I did an earlier quicker brush pen drawing from the same SVA rooftop, looking southwest. It’s a pen drawing across two pages of my Sketchbook No. 65.

I spent five different days drawing this one… though probably about ten hours total, because a few times I was up there and it was so cold that I could only draw for a couple hours. Today the weather was warmish, and I am starting a new job tomorrow, so I drew for about 5 hours total, and finished it off.

I am really proud of it!!! I think it turned out well… but if you look closely, you might find some mistakes (mostly places where perspective doesn’t quite line up correctly.) But I  even kind of like the mistakes. The mistakes are part of working directly in pen, with no pencil beneath.

I typically only work on a drawing in a single sitting… but coming back over and over makes for a richer, more detailed image. In some ways this drawing reminds me of this earlier oak trees drawing – only because I had the chance to return to the site over and over and develop a highly detailed drawing.

Here are a few photos of the work in progress:

iphone photo of Manhattan view that I sketched, taken on January 8th 2013

iphone photo of Manhattan view that I sketched, taken on January 8th 2013

When I first sketched, it was late on a cold sunny day (above), so you can see a lot of form shadows in the upper left of the drawing. (Subsequent days were more overcast, so the overall light source is a lot less clear.)

photo of early state of the Manhattan skyline drawing - after 2 days work

photo of early state of the Manhattan skyline drawing – after 2 days work

I started with the tallest building in the middle left, then did the full skyline, then worked my way to the nearest buildings.

Drawing in process about halfway done - from a couple weeks ago

Drawing in process about halfway done – from a couple weeks ago

Drawing in process - from earlier today

Drawing in process – from earlier today

Follow these links for more urban scenes and more sketchbook work.

3 responses to “Rooftop Manhattan Skyline drawing – January 2013

  1. That is great. I am going to take your inspiration for a graduation party for my daughter. Reach for the stars!!! Thanks

  2. Your art is amazing! Thank you for sharing it with me.

  3. This is so awesome. I really love how you posted the process. Thank you so much for sharing this with me!
    (sorry if this is a double post)

Leave a Reply

