Queens, NYC Street – 23 February 2013

Queens, NYC Street - 45th Street at Greenpoint Ave, ink and watercolor on paper, 23 February 2013, 6"x6"

Queens, NYC Street – 45th Street at Greenpoint Ave, ink and watercolor on paper, 23 February 2013, 6″x6″

This is a fairly quick ink and watercolor streetscape I did last weekend, while my fiance and I were in Queens for a few hours. It’s not necessarily a great composition (I meant to get the sidewalk in, but misjudged) or subject matter… but good to finish a piece and post here.

It was a cold rainy day, so I sat inside a cafe at this corner and looked for what view seemed more interesting. I started drawing the upper corner of the metroPCS sign, then worked my way around the piece.

Lastly, it’s kind of another of my urban tree portraits… because composition is centered on the tree. I felt like that tree was pretty gnarled and complicated, and I ended up simplifying it a bit… not really on purpose.

Leave a Reply

