Transit Rider Sketches – February 2013

Woman on the #2 Train, brush pen ink on paper in Sketchbook No. 65, 25 February 2013, about 8.5"x11"

Woman on the #2 Train, brush pen ink on paper in Sketchbook No. 65, 25 February 2013, about 8.5″x11″

Commuting from Jersey City to the Bronx, I have a lot of time on the train – just over an hour each day. So I’ve been filling a lot of pages in my Sketchbook No. 65 drawing folks riding on the train. These sketches are uneven – sometimes folks move or get up, or someone stands in the way. Nonetheless, it’s really good practice for drawing in a way that’s not too precious. For the two I’ve posted here, I was lucky to have a good 30-45 minutes working on the same model, so did more-or-less full-page portraits.

Man playing videogame on the #2 Train, brush pen ink on paper in Sketchbook No. 65

Man playing videogame on the #2 Train, brush pen ink on paper in Sketchbook No. 65, 27 February 2013, about 8.5″x11″

Mostly I’ve been using a Pentel brush pen, a la Craig Thompson, whose style I love.

Lots more transit rider sketches here, here, here – and tagged bus, rider, sketchbook, transit, and/or train. (Sorry I am kinda inconsistent on how I tag stuff here.)

Leave a Reply

