Sketchbook Number 65 – 20 December 2012 to 27 March 2013

Cover of Sketchbook No. 65, ink and sticker on book cover

Cover of Sketchbook No. 65, ink and sticker on book cover

I finished my 65th sketchbook last week. It took a bit less than four months, which is pretty fast for me – though it doesn’t really matter how fast they go, if the artwork inside is decent… and, for this one, I think it is.

First page of Sketchbook No. 65, ink and watercolor on paper, about 8.5"x11"

First page of Sketchbook No. 65, ink and watercolor on paper, about 8.5″x11″

It’s mostly chock-full of drawings that I do on my train commute from Jersey City to the Bronx (see here and here and below) but the best drawing far and away is this one I did from the rooftop where my wife Carrie works.

This is a drawing I did of a park site on the Bronx River:

Bronx River at Concrete Plant Park, brush pen on two pages of Sketchbook No. 65, about 11"x17", 9 January 2013

Bronx River at Concrete Plant Park, brush pen on two pages of Sketchbook No. 65, about 11″x17″, 9 January 2013

It’s called Concrete Plant Park – a former industrial site, now a river park. I now work for the Bronx River Alliance – which I am really enjoying. The Bronx River has a lot of the same issues as the Los Angeles River, which I used to work on.

Men on the 2 train, brush pen on paper in sketchbook No. 65, about 8.5"x11",  28 February 2013

Men on the 2 train, brush pen on paper in sketchbook No. 65, about 8.5″x11″, 28 February 2013

Lots of time commuting!

Woman on the No.2 train, brush pen on paper in Sketchbook No. 65, about 8.5"x11", 5 March 2013

Woman on the No.2 train, brush pen on paper in Sketchbook No. 65, about 8.5″x11″, 5 March 2013

Actually I really enjoy drawing on the train. Often folks will see me and praise my work, start conversations, etc. It’s good practice for working fairly fast and spontaneous… you never know when that person is going to get up and get off the train.

Chateau Marmont on Sunset Boulevard in Los Angeles, brush pen on paper in Sketchbook No. 65, about 11"x17", 7 March 2013

Chateau Marmont on Sunset Boulevard in Los Angeles, brush pen on paper in Sketchbook No. 65, about 11″x17″, 7 March 2013

In March, Carrie and I took a trip to Los Angeles, got married, and I got some sketching done there. Above is Chateau Marmont on Sunset Boulevard in Hollywood.

That’s all for now! More of my sketchbook stuff here.

One response to “Sketchbook Number 65 – 20 December 2012 to 27 March 2013

  1. This looks like a great sketchbook. And 65 is an impressive number. I haven’t counted mine, but I’m pretty sure its not nearly as many…

    And public transport is always a great way to spend some time drawing 🙂

Leave a Reply

