Sketchbook Number 66 – 28 March 2013 to 27 June 2013

Front cover of my Sketchbook No. 66 - about 8.5"x11"

Front cover of my Sketchbook No. 66 – about 8.5″x11″

I finished another sketchbook. My sixty-sixth. The predominant subject matter is, again, people riding the New York City subways. There are lots of them in earlier books too. I draw a lot during my commute from Jersey City to the Bronx, so that fills my books up quite a bit. Here’s a tour through some of the highlights of the latest book – shown in the order in which they appear in the book. Click on any image for a bigger version.

Page 1 of Sketchbook No. 66, ink on paper, 2013 about 8.5"x11"

Page 1 of Sketchbook No. 66, ink on paper, 2013 about 8.5″x11″

This is the first page of the sketchbook… which I often do in color, but I think I was away from home when I got going so did this complicated black and white design to make up for the lack of color. It took me a while to finish this. I first penned in the letters, then gradually filled in all the pattern detail around them.

Train riders, pen on paper in sketchbook, April 2013, about 8.5"x11"

Train riders, pen on paper in sketchbook, April 2013, about 8.5″x11″

These train people I drew with a Uni-ball Vision Micro pen. I tend to draw directly in pen (rarely use pencil when sketching), and Uni-ball is the most common pen I draw and write with.

Sketch of Bronx streets - Fordham Road at Grand Concourse, brush pen on paper in sketchbook, 6 April 2013, about 11"x17"

Sketch of Bronx streets – Fordham Road at Grand Concourse, brush pen on paper in sketchbook, 6 April 2013, about 11″x17″

This is a streetscape drawn not far from my work at the Bronx River Alliance. It’s done with a Pentel brush-pen, which I am drawing with more and more these days. Like most of my sketchbook work, this one was done quickly – in just one sitting. I think it took roughly 2-3 hours. There are quite a few flaws, but overall I like it.

Sketch of Bronx Streetscape - 2 Train elevated tracks at Westchester and Southern, ink on paper in sketchbook, April-June 2013, about 11"x17"

Sketch of Bronx Streetscape – 2 Train elevated tracks at Westchester and Southern, ink on paper in sketchbook, April-June 2013, about 11″x17″

This is one of those rare drawings where I’ve spent a lot of time, returning to it over and over… and I think that the time investment really shows. (Other long-time-investment drawings like this are these oak trees and these two NYC skyline drawings.) I liked the way that the elevated subway tracks curved there – very close to the Simpson Street Station on the 2 and 5 Trains. I kept going there on my way to or from work – stopping 9 times for a total of about 15-20 hours. Again its Uni-ball pen directly on paper, no pencil.

Sketch of people on the 2 Train, pen and brush pen on paper in Sketchbook, 30 April 2013, about 8.5"x11"

Sketch of people on the 2 Train, pen and brush pen on paper in Sketchbook, 30 April 2013, about 8.5″x11″

More train ridin’ peoples.

Sketch of cover of Pregnant Parents Comics, pen on paper in sketchbook, May 2013, about 5"x7"

Sketch of cover of Pregnant Parents Comics, pen on paper in sketchbook, May 2013, about 5″x7″

My wife is pregnant – due July 25th 2013! Occasionally I draw imagined comic book covers (see some older ones here.) I’ve started working on a 7-page comic story about her/our pregancy… hopefully I can get it done before the new kid arrives! (This sketchbook also contains some notes from birth classes that Carrie and I took together. I’ve spared you readers from these – they’re not all that artistic.)

Sketch of Carrie Lincourt reading Oscar Wao, ink on paper in sketchbook, 22 June 2013, about 6"x8"

Sketch of Carrie Lincourt reading Oscar Wao, ink on paper in sketchbook, 22 June 2013, about 6″x8″

I’ve been drawing and painting Carrie and her awesome changing pregnant body. Some of the drawings are ok, others not so great. (It’s easier to draw a train rider who I will never see again – nobody notices when it’s entirely out of proportion!) This is a drawing that we both liked. Carrie is reading The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao, by one of my favorite authors: Junot Diaz (who I wrote about here and sketched here.)

In addition to the above, I posted these earlier sketches from Sketchbook No. 66: Suzanne Vega concert and these, you guessed it, train riders.

Lots more of my recent sketchbook work here. And see these slide shows from earlier sketchbooks, too: number 1-30 and number 31-60. And I am often posting some snapshots of my sketches to Instagram – find me there under joelinton63.

Leave a Reply

