Maeve’s Birth Announcement – August 2013

Maeve's Birth Announcement, ink on paper photocopied onto color cardstock, August 2013, 8.5"x11"

Maeve’s Birth Announcement, ink on paper photocopied onto color cardstock, August 2013, 8.5″x11″

My wife Carrie and I have a precious baby girl Maeve, who is 3 weeks old today! Both Carrie and I have been sketching Maeve when she holds relatively still (and I’ll post some more of those sketches soon) and we used a few of our sketches to create this birth announcement which we’ve mailed out to family and friends.

Above is the inside of the card. For mailing it’s folded vertically in the middle of the image above. I did the lettering by hand, and used a sketch from my Sketchbook No. 67. I think that the lettering turned out well.  I actually did lay it out in pencil first – something that I don’t do all that often… but, hey, there’s only one time I’ll ever create a birth announcement for my first born, no?

Below is the back side (outside) of the card.

back side of Maeve's birth announcement

back side of Maeve’s birth announcement

We’ve hand-written address in the bottom blank area, and affixed a stamp partially obscuring the stork image.

half of the back of Maeve's birth announcement

half of the back of Maeve’s birth announcement

Here’s the back, right-side up, too. The image on the left was drawn by my wife Carrie Lincourt. The one on the right is mine.

I am pretty happy that we got these drawn, copied, addressed and mailed while Maeve is still a baby! It’s a little bit similar to birth announcements I did when my sister’s son Garrett and daughter Paige were born… at some point I will scan and post those and you can compare.

Both Carrie and I have been posting photos and tales of our baby daughter Maeve at my other blog The Periodic Fable.

Leave a Reply

