Maeve Baby Footprints – 9 September 2013

Maeve Margaret Linton Lincourt footprints with hand lettering, watercolor on paper, 9 September 2013, 7"x10"

Maeve Margaret Linton Lincourt footprints with hand lettering, watercolor on paper, 9 September 2013, 7″x10″

This post shows three pieces that I did in watercolor on paper that commemorate my daughter Maeve Margaret Linton Lincourt with hand-lettering arranged around Maeve’s footprints.

I’d been meaning to do these foot- and hand-prints sooner… but we didn’t get around to them until early September, a full month after Maeve was born. I figured that her feet weren’t getting any smaller, so we better print them soon.

We did three prints, all on watercolor paper. I then hand lettered Maeve’s information around them.

I started with the worst footprint: (as sort of a low stakes warm-up piece)

Maeve Margaret Linton Lincourt footprint with lettering, watercolor on paper, 9 September 2013, 4"x4"

Maeve Margaret Linton Lincourt footprint with lettering, watercolor on paper, 9 September 2013, 4″x4″

I don’t think it was a good idea to split the name like that.

Second I did this blue one:

Maeve Margaret Linton Lincourt, footprint and lettering in watercolor on paper, 9 September 2013, 4"x4"

Maeve Margaret Linton Lincourt, footprint and lettering in watercolor on paper, 9 September 2013, 4″x4″

I was going to add more stuff, but once I got that far it seemed pretty finished. The word “born” should be closer to the foot.

The one at the top of the post is the largest and best – with both feet, plenty of lettering, and all on good quality watercolor paper. Here are a couple of details of the lettering:

detail of above piece

detail of piece at top of this blog post

another detail of the above piece - I like the way these below-the-letters flourishes turned out

another detail of the above piece – I like the way these below-the-letters flourishes look

I am happy with the way it all turned out. Overall the composition is fairly balanced. The lettering is fairly wild, while still being pretty readable, and halfway consistent.

(these days I haven’t been scanning – just taking photos of artwork instead. It’s not as high quality an image… but it’s quicker.)

Leave a Reply

